Cycle 1 – Activity 3 – Player Stories

Last week during discussion of PX Goals it was grounded that the main focus for the SHMUP would revolve around “Cognitive Player Experiences”.  

Following the rules that were created in Activity 2, we concluded that the player would traverse around the ocean floor in attempt to destroy the enemy object (in this case fish, however, for the more environmentally friendly players, perhaps enemy submarines or even bundles of garbage floating in the water.)

As such the player stories would stem from the rules created, incorporating our theme of underwater.  Hence some examples of these aforementioned stories may be:

  1. As a submarine, I want my torpedoes to destroy the fish to achieve a high score
  2. As a player, I want the submarine object to move to avoid enemies and remain alive
  3. As a submarine, I want my torpedoes to destroy the fish so I can stay alive
  4. As a submarine, I want to obtain powers to be able to destroy more enemies
  5. As a handler of the torpedo I want the enemies to come into the scene so I can destroy them
  6. As an object with a torpedo I want to be able to shoot the enemies so I can collect power ups later
  7. As a deep-sea diver, I want my bullets to perform destruction to achieve liberation of the seas
  8. As an explorer of the deep ocean I want nukes to vaporise the fish to sweep the oceans clean
  9. As a sea archaeologist, I want my torpedoes to destroy fish so I can leave with treasure (High score)
  10. As an operator of a submarine I want to traverse the ocean floor to explore the area and remain alive so I can achieve a higher score
Leave a Reply

